Award for Innovative Practice

This award has been established to recognize and honour the exceptional contributions of an individual occupational therapist who has shown innovation and leadership in clinical practice.

Nomination and Narrative Froms


2016 Recipients

Dr. Briana Zur

Dr. Briana Zur for her exemplary work in practice, education, research and policy. Briana is a scholar and expert in the area of cognitive assessments, with her doctoral work conducting validity testing for the Cognitive Competence Test earning numerous accolades including publication requests, CIHR support, and speaking engagements. More recently Briana has brought an occupational perspective into policy discussions related to driving and age-friendly environments, as a member of the Age-Friendly City advisory committee for Waterloo, Ontario. Her commitment to the profession of occupational therapy has been a true source of inspiration for those who have worked with her.

Julie Entwistle

CAOT recognizes Julie Entwistle for her work developing Entwistle Power Occupational Therapy into one of the largest OT-only rehabilitation firms in Ontario with over 30 occupational therapists and a mandate to provide a unique range of services to individuals who have suffered catastrophic injury. Despite a full case load, Julie strives each day to provide solutions for living to her patients, to mentor and guide her staff, and to advocate for occupational therapists using social media, video, blog and dedication.

Past Recipients

Crystal Dieleman
Chris Everdell
Danielle Hogan

Pat McKee
Catherine (Carrie) Clark
Adeena Wisenthal

Marie Brine
Pam Andrews
Darla King

Jeanette Edwards
Heather Cutcliffe
Susan Duff

Hilary Drummond
Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada