Award for Leadership in Occupational Therapy

This award has been established to recognize and honour the exceptional contributions of an individual occupational therapist who has been in the forefront of activities which provide strategic leadership and direction for developing the profession.

Nomination and Narrative Froms

Award nomination deadline is December 1st.


2018 Recipient 

Heidi Cramm
Her tireless work in military and veterans’ health research has established Heidi as a visionary leader and an effective advocate for the role of occupational therapy in this field. She has led several successful research groups, received over $8 million in funding, and has 65 publications to her name in support of her work. Her involvement with the Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research (CIMVHR) has ensured many exceptional opportunities for the advancement of the profile of the role of occupational therapy in military family health. Her involvement with their 2017 conference, in partnership with the Invictus Games Toronto 2017, increased the visibility of occupational therapy significantly and provided a platform for CAOT to meet with key decision makers and circulate resources on this topic.

Past Recipients

Melanie Weller                        

Judith Friedland                        

Marlene Stern                           

Barbara Worth                            

Shrikant J. Chinchalkar                  

Margo Paterson 

Françoise Rollin 

Terry Krupa 

Élisabeth Dutil 

Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada