The Golden Quill Award

The Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists acknowledges an individual author or a group of authors that has/have published an exceptional article in the Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy in the volume year two years prior to the year of the award. The author or group of authors need not be members of the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists or Canadian citizens.

Golden Quill Award is reactivated for 2020!

The Golden Quill article is selected by a committee composed of members representing Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy (CJOT) Editorial Board, past Golden Quill recipients, CAOT Fellows, Ph.D. or Post-doctoral students, and reviewers of CJOT manuscripts.

The winner is an exceptional article identified as one that:
  • Makes an exceptional contribution to the science and practice of occupational therapy;
  • Is rigorously designed or argued;
  • Demonstrates a high level of scholarship and critical thinking;
  • Enhances the empirical and/or theoretical foundation of the profession by:
    • Contributing new knowledge to support development, implementation or evaluation of evidence-based services to occupational therapy clients, or
    • Illustrating the impact of occupational therapy services on clients’ everyday lives, or
    • Offering approaches or strategies to enhance the education of occupational therapy students or occupational therapists, or
    • Illustrating methodological excellence, or
    • Enhancing theoretical development in the field, or
    • Providing a model for excellent scholarly writing in the field. 
The public announcement of the award will be made at the CAOT Annual General Meeting and presentation of the award will be made to the recipient(s) at the Awards Ceremony at the Annual CAOT Conference.

*Nominations are no longer necessary.

Visit the collection of Golden Quill Award Winning Articles – Sage website.

2020 Recipients

Gayle J. Restall, Natalie J. MacLeod Schroeder and Charmayne D. Dubé

The recipients of the Golden Quill Award for their article titled “The Equity Lens for Occupational Therapy: A program development and evaluation tool”.

Past Recipients

2018 - Wendy Wood, Jenna L. Lampe, Christina A. Logan, Amy R. Metcalfe, and Beth E. Hoesly
2017 -
Laurence Roy, Jacqueline Rousseau, Pierre Fortier and Jean-Pierre Mottard  
2016 - Alison J. Gerlach: Sharpening our critical edge: Occupational therapy in the context of marginalized populations
2015 - Rebecca M. Aldrich, Caroline Harkins McCarty, Brian A. Boyd, Caitlin E. Bunch and Cathrine B. Balentine: Empirical Lessons about Occupational Categorization from Case Studies of Unemployment
2014 - Cara L. Brown and Marcia L. Finlayson: Performance measures rather than self-report measures of functional status predict home care use in community-dwelling older adults
2013 - Daniel J. Sutton, Clare S. Hocking and Liz A. Smythe: A phenomenological study of occupational engagement in recovery from mental illness
2012 - Eleanor L. Wray and Patricia A. Mortenson: Cultural competence in occupational therapists working in early intervention therapy programs
2011 - Mary Egan, Lucy-Ann Kubina, Rosemarie Lidstone, Greg Macdougall and Anne Raudoy:  A critical reflection on occupational therapy within one Assertive Community Treatment team
2010 - Karen Whalley Hammell: Sacred texts: A sceptical exploration of the assumptions underpinning theories of occupation

Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada