CAOT President  

Nicola MacNaughton, CAOT Presidents

Catherine Backman, PhD, Reg. OT (BC), FCAOT

As of October 1, 2018, we are pleased to announce Catherine Backman as President and Chair of the CAOT Board of Directors. Catherine will serve a two-year term and looks forward to engaging with members from across the country and around the world, as well as developing a new strategic plan with contributions from members, board and staff.

Catherine is passionate about teaching occupational therapy and is Professor, Department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy at The University of British Columbia, and Senior Scientist at Arthritis Research Canada. She is no stranger to volunteer positions with professional organizations and has contributed extensively to CAOT throughout her 36-year career, including as Secretary, board director and on the CJOT Editorial Board and the CAOT-BC Advisory Committee. Among her many distinguished awards, Catherine was CAOT’s Muriel Driver Memorial Lecturer in 2004 and is a CAOT Fellow.

Catherine can be reached through board@caot.ca

CAOT Chief Executive Officer

Nicola MacNaughton, CAOT Presidents

Hélène Sabourin, RN, BScN, MHA

As of January 2019, Hélène is the Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists.

Reporting to and collaborating with the President and Board of Directors, Hélène is responsible and accountable for the Association’s overall performance through the implementation of the strategic plan, achievement of corporate goals, and effective development and stewardship of corporate resources.

Hélène holds a Bachelor of Science Nursing as well as a Master’s degree in Health Administration and brings over 25 years of experience of not-for-profit management experience with proven expertise across the health systems at the international, national, and regional levels. Prior to her appointment, Hélène served as Senior Director, Governance & Corporate Strategy at Accreditation Canada; Executive Director for the Canadian Nurses Foundation; and as Senior Consultant at the Canadian Nurses Association where she led the Certification Program for over 6 years thus bringing knowledge in exam development and administration. Hélène worked as a registered nurse in several settings such as acute care, community care, occupational health & safety and correctional services.

Hélène is honoured to take on the chief executive role at CAOT to advance the profession of occupational therapy and to work with its members to support the creation of client-centred solutions for all Canadians by improving lives each and every day.

Hélène can be reached at hsabourin@caot.ca

CAOT Board Nominations 

If you have a vision for occupational therapy in Canada and want to influence policies and make positive change for the profession on the national level, then CAOT needs you! We are looking for potential candidates with initiative, foresight, creativity and a keen desire to help shape, promote and oversee the activities of the association.

As CAOT is implementing its new 2019-2022 Strategic Plan, we are now accepting nominations for the following positions on the CAOT Board of Directors:



Board Directors for Manitoba, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island

Nominations deadline is December 1, 2019
If you have any questions, please contact nomination@caot.ca

CAOT Board of Directors 2019-2020

President  Catherine Backman Vancouver, BC
Vice-Chair             Christine Fleming  Saskatoon, SK
Secretary  Melissa Greene Conception Bay, NL
Treasurer Margaret Collingwood St. John’s, NL
British Columbia Donna Drynan North Vancouver, BC
Alberta Shaniff Esmail  Edmonton, AB
Saskatchewan Suzanne Lendvoy Regina, SK
Manitoba     Lisa Diamond-Burchuk  Winnipeg, MB
Ontario Karen Rebeiro Gruhl Sudbury, ON
Quebec  Nathalie Veillette Boucherville, QC
Nova Scotia Terry McLaughlin Cow Bay, NS
Prince Edward Island   Marilee Miller     Charlottetown, PE
New Brunswick Claudia Martin Charlo, NB
and Labrador
Sarah Burt 

Mount Pearl, NL

Northwest Territories/
Kaitlynn Dewhirst Yellowknife, NT
External Member Dirk Silversides Regina, SK
WFOT Director Andrew Freeman Quebec City, QC

The CAOT Board likes to hear from you.  Please direct any inquiries to board@caot.ca

CAOT Board Meeting Dates

Friday, November 15, 2018, 8:30 am to 5 pm Local Time and Saturday, November 16, 2018 8:30 am to 3 pm in Ottawa, Ontario

Friday, February 14, 2020 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm Eastern Time, Board Meeting teleconference

Monday, March 23, 2020 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm Eastern Time, Annual General Meeting

Friday, April 3, 2020 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm Eastern Time, Board Meeting teleconference

CAOT Bylaws

Governance at CAOT

Copyright 2016 Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
powered by in1touch
100-34 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K2E 7J6 Canada